Whisky Talks… – #193 Jose Luis Navarro

JOSE LUIS NAVARRO – BASQUE MOONSHINERS (BASQUE COUNTRY/ SPAIN)

Jose about himself:

My name is Jose Luis Navarro. I am 49 years old and I was born in Vitoria-Gasteiz (Basque Country). I am one of the founding partners of Basque Moonshiners and for 10 years I have been dedicated to distilling whiskey and other spirits with local raw materials and respecting traditions.

I studied Political Science, and I have developed my professional career in companies in different sectors at the management level. Whisky has been my passion since when I was 15 years old I discovered an old pot-still in my grandparents’ town.

I also like motorcycles, sailing, climbing the mountains and enjoying life with my friends.

Questions & Answers – English Version

1. Love, passion or just work? What is whisky for you?

For me, whiskey is a way of life. It’s been a few years since my old job, they paid me a lot of money, to start this adventure in the world of whisky, my passion.

2. The first whisky you remember? Did you like it?

My first whisky was Four Roses bourbon. As a teenager we used to drink it in shots but also mixed with coke. That sweetness and cinnamon notes were very easy-to-drink.

At that time Scotchs seemed to me too strong; although it is true that we had no money enough to drink good Single Malts.

3. Whisky, the taste of which will remain in your memory forever?

The whisky that most marked me was Ardbeg 10. The first time I tried it seemed spectacular and every time I went to drink it I remembered the first time. Now I’ve tried other whiskies that are supposedly much better but they haven’t affected me as much.

Another whisky that also marked me a lot was Clynelish 14. With this whiskey I learned to appreciate the notes of wax.

4. What are your flavours? Which aspects of whisky are the most important for you?

I am very open minded to different flavours and aromas, but the notes that most attract me are “peated whiskies”.

The aspects that are most appreciated in a whisky are the complexity in the nose and mouth and the depth of flavours. Also depending on the context, the time of the year, the company I like to experience different flavours.

And normally tobacco notes are not aspects that I enjoy much in whiskies.

5. Do not mix whisky with …? Controversial views on whisky, what do you think about it?

In my opinion to enjoy a good whisky you should not mix it with anything. So you will be able to appreciate all the details that the distiller/blender has asked to reflect in the final product.

But this is just a personal appreciation, I have a lot of respect for people who enjoy a good cocktail with whisky or just on the rocks, but I prefer to drink a good beer on a day of warmth.

Drinking whiskey is something very personal, and I believe that every person can do what they most want.

6. Whisky with water or maybe cask strength?

Normally I like to taste cask strength whiskies, but it is certain that with a little water these whiskeys evolve very well.

Cask strength whiskies have a problem. When you are used to drinking cask strength whiskies, it is then difficult to turn to whiskeys <50% abv.

7. The best whisky you’ve ever tasted?

I don’t know if it’s the best, but if it’s the one I enjoyed the most, and I’d tell you it’s OCTOMORE 6.1 Scottish Barley 2008 5yo.

And another one I’ve tried the past year and it seemed incredible to me, not just because of the product itself, but also because of the philosophy behind the distillery, and it’s WATERFORD HEARTH (2021).

8. Whisky of your dreams you haven’t tried and would like to do?

I’m not a fetishist with respect to whiskies. I’ve probably had whiskeys of €30 that have thrilled me, and I’ve probably got whiskeys of 25 or 30 years old that have left me indifferent. I would like to try some of Ardbeg’s whiskies before distillery closing in 1981.

9. Your favourite tasting glass?

Glencairn glass is the best for me.

10.  Your favourite whisky cocktail?

Old Fashioned. Penicillin is also a good alternative in summer.

11. How do you see the future in the world of whisky? Where can experiments lead us?

Whisky is a drink that has been with us for more than five centuries and is more alive than ever. New distilleries are appearing, new markets that did not traditionally make whisky, and each distillery tries to contribute its special characteristics. I think we are in a very beautiful moment where we have discovered that there is life beyond Scotland or Ireland. There are independent distilleries and bottlers that are creating incredible things. I think the best is yet to come.

12. List three favourite drinks for tasting, drinking and sipping?

Only three…

Whisky, wine and beer.

13. Your greatest authority in the world of whisky?

I have very good references in whisky but if I have to choose just one I’d said Mark Reynier. His work in Waterford is incredible. He’s revolutionizing the whisky sector not only in Ireland, but globally.

I also would like to mention Dave Broom, Felipe Schrieberg or Manu Iturregi.

14. What book, would you recommend about whisky?

The World Atlas of Whisky (Dave Broom).

15. Is it worth investing in whisky?

It’s a good investment but I believe that a whisky is to be drunk and enjoyed, not to be left closed and stored. Life is too short.

16. Whisky is one thing, but if not what else you would like to do?

I love visiting distilleries traveling with my motorcycle.

Pytania i odpowiedzi – Wersja Polska

JOSE LUIS NAVARRO – BASQUE MOONSHINERS (BASQUE COUNTRY/ SPAIN)

Jose o sobie:

Nazywam się Jose Luis Navarro. Mam 49 lat i urodziłem się w Vitoria-Gasteiz (Kraj Basków). Jestem jednym z założycieli Basque Moonshiners i od 10 lat zajmuję się destylacją whisky i innych alkoholi z lokalnych surowców i z poszanowaniem tradycji.

Studiowałem politologię, a swoją karierę zawodową rozwijałem w firmach różnych branż na poziomie menedżerskim. Whisky jest moją pasją odkąd mając 15 lat odkryłem w miasteczku moich dziadków stary destylator.

Lubię też motocykle, żeglarstwo, wspinaczkę górską i cieszenie się życiem z przyjaciółmi.

1. Miłość, pasja czy po prostu praca? Czym dla Ciebie jest whisky?

Dla mnie whisky jest stylem życia. Minęło już sporo czasu od zakończenia mojej starej pracy, gdzie płacili mi mnóstwo pieniędzy, co pozwoliło mi rozpocząć tę przygodę w świecie whisky, która stała się moją pasją.

2. Pierwsza whisky jaką pamiętasz i czy Ci smakowała?

Moją pierwszą whiskey był bourbon Four Roses. Jako nastolatkowie piliśmy ją w shotach, ale także zmieszaną z colą. Ta słodycz i nuty cynamonu powodowały, że była bardzo łatwa do picia.

W tamtym czasie szkocka wydawała mi się zbyt mocna; chociaż prawdą jest, że nie mieliśmy pieniędzy, żeby napić się dobrych Single Maltów.

3. Whisky, której smak pozostanie na zawsze w Twojej pamięci?

Whisky, która najbardziej mnie urzekła, to Ardbeg 10. Kiedy pierwszy raz ją spróbowałem, wydała mi się spektakularna i za każdym razem, gdy ją piję, pamiętam ten pierwszy raz. Od tamtego czasu próbowałem innych whisky, które podobno są dużo lepsze, ale nie zrobiły na mnie aż takiego wrażenia.

Kolejną whisky, która również zrobiła na mnie duże wrażenie, była Clynelish 14. Dzięki tej whisky nauczyłam się doceniać nuty wosku.

4. Jakie są Twoje smaki? Czym sugerujesz się przy wyborze whisky?

Jestem bardzo otwarty na różne smaki i aromaty, ale nuty, które najbardziej mnie przyciągają, to „torfowe whisky”.

Aspekty najbardziej cenione w whisky to złożoność w zapachu i smaku oraz głębia tych smaków. Również w zależności od kontekstu, pory roku i towarzystwa lubię doświadczać różnych smaków.

I zwykle nuty tytoniowe nie są tymi, które szczególnie podobają mi się w whisky.

5. Nie wolno mieszać whisky z…? Kontrowersyjne poglądy na temat whisky, co Ty o tym sądzisz?

Moim zdaniem, żeby cieszyć się dobrą whisky nie należy jej z niczym mieszać. Dzięki temu będziesz mógł docenić wszystkie szczegóły, które gorzelnik/blender chciał odzwierciedlić w produkcie końcowym.

Ale to tylko moje osobiste zdanie, mam wiele szacunku dla ludzi, którzy lubią dobry koktajl na bazie whisky lub po prostu piją ją na lodzie, ale ja wtedy wolę napić się dobrego piwa w ciepłe dni.

Picie whisky to sprawa bardzo osobista i uważam, że każdy może robić to, na co ma ochotę.

6. Whisky z wodą czy może w mocy beczki?

Zwykle lubię degustować whisky w mocy beczki, ale pewne jest, że przy odrobinie wody te whisky bardzo dobrze ewoluują.

Whisky typu Cask Strength mają pewien problem. Jeśli jesteś przyzwyczajony do picia whisky w mocy beczki, trudno jest potem przejść na whisky <50% vol.

7. Najlepsza whisky jaką do tej pory próbowałeś?

Nie wiem, czy była najlepsza, ale jeśli weźmiemy pod uwagę to, że smakowała mi najbardziej, to powiedziałbym, że to OCTOMORE 6.1 Scottish Barley 2008 5yo.

I kolejna, którą próbowałem w zeszłym roku i wydała mi się niesamowita, nie tylko ze względu na sam produkt, ale także ze względu na filozofię stojącą za destylarnią, a jest to WATERFORD HEARTH (2021).

8. Whisky marzeń, której nie próbowałeś, a chciałbyś to zrobić?

Nie jestem fetyszystą jeśli chodzi o whisky. Prawdopodobnie piłem whisky za 30 euro, które mnie zachwyciły, i prawdopodobnie mam whisky mające 25 lub 30 lat, które pozostawiły mnie obojętnym. Chciałbym spróbować whisky Ardbeg z przed zamknięciem destylarni w 1981 roku.

9. Twoje ulubione szkło do degustacji?

Dla mnie najlepszy jest kieliszek Glencairn.

10. Twój ulubiony koktajl na bazie whisky?

Old Fashioned. Penicylina jest również dobrą alternatywą latem.

11. Jak widzisz przyszłość w świecie whisky? Gdzie mogą zaprowadzić nas eksperymenty?

Whisky to trunek, który jest z nami od ponad pięciu stuleci i jest bardziej żywy niż kiedykolwiek. Pojawiają się nowe destylarnie, nowe rynki, na których tradycyjnie nie produkowano whisky, a każda destylarnia stara się wnieść swoje szczególne cechy. Myślę, że jesteśmy w bardzo pięknym momencie, w którym odkryliśmy, że poza Szkocją i Irlandią istnieje życie. Istnieją niezależne gorzelnie i rozlewnie, które tworzą niesamowite rzeczy. Myślę, że najlepsze dopiero przed nami.

12. Wymień 3 ulubione trunki do degustacji, picia, sączenia?

Tylko trzy…

Whisky, wino i piwo.

13. Twój największy autorytet w świecie whisky?

Mam bardzo dużo takich osób jeśli chodzi o whisky, ale gdybym miał wybrać tylko jedną, to powiedziałbym, że Mark Reynier. Jego praca w Waterford jest niesamowita. Rewolucjonizuje sektor whisky nie tylko w Irlandii, ale na całym świecie.

Chciałbym także wspomnieć o Dave’ie Broomie, Felipe Schriebergu czy Manu Iturregim.

14. Jaką polecisz książkę o tematyce whisky?

Wielki Atlas Świata Whisky – Dave Broom.

15. Czy warto inwestować w whisky?

To dobra inwestycja, ale uważam, że whisky należy pić i cieszyć się nią, a nie zostawiać ją zamkniętą na przechowanie. Życie jest zbyt krótkie.

16. Whisky to jedno, a jeśli nie ona to co?

Uwielbiam zwiedzać destylarnie podróżując motocyklem.

#EkipaWML

#WhiskyTalks #RozmowyOwhisky #WhiskyMyLife #QuestionsAndAnswers #Interview #Wywiad

Dodaj komentarz

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑